Nick Kyrgios briefly refused to play after a dubious time violation call, before returning and taking care of business.
The full Kyrgios package was well and truly on show as he flashed his array of brilliant strokes and serves on either side of the blow-up in the 6-2 7-6 win over Harry Bourchier.
The incident occurred with Kyrgios serving up 40-30 with the scores tied 5-5 in the second set, when chair umpire Nacho Forcadell called him for a time violation.
Kyrgios, who had been complaining all match about the serve clock running in the time taken to reach the towels, took issue with the call and walked off the court, refusing to play until a supervisor was called.
“I just started serving, that’s my motion – what are you talking about?” he told Forcadell.
“My motion starts here, mate. I’m not playing – get (the supervisor) out, I want to see him.
“Yeah, I don’t understand, that’s why I want to talk to him.
“I was serving, why do you have to call it?” he later added as the exchange continued.
“Do you think it’s funny? Is that why you do it? I was serving. So every motion is the same? Every technique is different.”
Kyrgios was not the only one left scratching their heads at Forcadell’s call, with the commentary team also in the Australian’s corner.
“I must admit, I wasn’t expecting a time violation to be called,” Peter Marcato said on Nine’s coverage.
“As an umpire, you never want to make yourself a part of the match.,” co-commentator Marc Lucero added.
“This is something that can probably be handled in the changeover, to give Nick another soft warning and tell him to keep it moving.”
Eventually, Kyrgios’ wishes were granted as supervisor Cedric Mourier came onto the court and allowed the Australian to explain himself.
“I saw the clock, it was at 3, 2, 1, as at 1, I’m pulling my serve and he calls time violation. I wasn’t bouncing the ball, I was serving, so it’s ridiculous,” he told Mourier.
“The tennis isn’t about him, he’s an extra to make sure all this shit goes smoothly. So why does he feel the need to do that?
“You know I have to walk back and forth to get my towel now, so he’s a smart ass and calls a time violation and now I have to get fined for it. I just want to understand why these guys think it’s about them.”
The stoppage came at an inopportune time for Bourchier, who was just getting some momentum going, and he appeared annoyed by the entire exchange.
“Cedric, can we drop it and just keep playing or not?” he asked Mourier.
Eventually, the pair resumed playing, but not before Bourchier asked Kyrgios from across the court why he could not wait until a break to discuss the time violation.
“I wanted to talk about it now,” Kyrgios said. “I’ve lost enough money to these peanuts.”
Following the contest, Kyrgios offered further insight on why he refused to play until the issue was solved.
“I just like playing by the rules,” he told reporters.
“I just didn’t want to play until I made sure I wasn’t getting fined.
“Harry is a great player. We used to play together back in Canberra, we know each other well, we know each other’s games. He’s a great player. It was fun.”
The win means Kyrgios will play Croatia’s Borna Coric in the third-round, but the 25-year-old was not prepared to think about his upcoming clash.
“I’m not even going to think about that now,” he said.
“I’m just going to have a glass of wine and chill out.”